Beginner GuideBlog

What is IPS? All About Indian Police Service Exam

What is IPS Exam? Eligibility for IPS, Age Limit, Syllabus & Preparation

The Indian Police Service (IPS) is one of the three All India Services of the Government of India. The IPS was formed in the year 1948. The cadre controlling authority for the IPS is the Ministry of Home Affairs.

IPS Exam

IPS Exam The Indian Police Service examination is a part of the Civil Services Examination (CSE) which is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) each year.

IPS Officer

IPS Officer An IPS (Indian Police Service) officer carries out his/her responsibilities by

  • An IPS (Indian Police Service) officer carries out his/her responsibilities by safeguarding public
  • IPS Officer serves for the state & central as well. Their primary duty is to maintain peace among public
  • The IPS gives more importance to law and order, which, at the district level, is a collective responsibility of IPS and IAS officers; detecting and preventing crime; and traffic control, preventing drug, accident prevention, and management etc.
  • Their main role is to lead and commanding the Indian Intelligence Agencies like Research and Analysis Wing (R&AW), Intelligence Bureau (IB), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Criminal Investigation Department (CID) etc., Indian Federal Law Enforcement Agencies, Civil and Armed Police Forces in all the states and union territories

Branches in IPS

In order to fulfil these functions efficiently, responsibly and systematically, the IPS service is divided into various functional departments such as Crime Branch, Criminal Investigation Department (CID), Home Guards, Traffic Bureau.

IPS Exam Highlights

The Indian Police Service (IPS) selection will be made through the Civil Services Examination (CSE) conduct by the UPSC along with more than 20 services. The application process and selection process is common for all the services. Approximately, over eight lakh candidates apply for the IPS exam every year.

The selection process for the IPS includes the preliminary, main examination and an interview/personality test. Every year, the selection process will begin in the month of June with Preliminary and conclude in April. The final merit list for the CSE will be released in May.

IPS Eligibility to Become an IPS Officer

To become an Indian Police officer in India, aspirants must meet the stringent criteria set by the UPSC and clear the IPS exam (Civil Services Exam).

The IPS eligibility conditions and qualification criteria are:

  1. Nationality – Must be an Indian citizen
  2. Age Limit – Minimum age of 21 years, maximum age varies, depending on category and benchmark physical disability
  3. Minimum Educational Qualification – University degree (Graduate) from a recognized University
  4. Number of Attempts – 6 attempts for General category & EWS (More for other categories)
  5. Restriction on Applying – Officers already appointed to the IAS or IFS aren’t eligible
  6. Physical Standards – As per the Rules for Examination

Indian Police Service – Roles and responsibilities of IPS Officer

The Indian Police Service comes under the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). The roles and responsibilities of the IPS officers are as follows:

  1. Border responsibilities and duties
    • Counter-terrorism
    • Border policing
  2. Maintaining public peace and order
    • Crime prevention
    • Investigation, detection and collection of intelligence
  3. VIP security
  4. Railway policing
  5. Anti-smuggling and drug trafficking
  6. Tackling Economic Offences
    • Corruption in public life
  7. Disaster management
    • Biodiversity and protection/enforcement of environmental laws, etc
  8. Enforcement of socio-economic legislation
  9. High-level posts in the Indian Intelligence Agencies
    • CBI
    • R&AW
    • IB
    • CID
  10. Leading and commanding the Indian Federal Law Enforcement Agencies
    • Civil and Armed Police Forces in all the union territories and states
    • CAPF – Central Armed Police Forces
      1. CPO – Central Police Organisations
      2. CPF – Central Paramilitary Forces
        • BSF
        • ITBP
        • CRPF
        • NSG
        • CISF
  11. Serve as HoDs in policy making
    • in the Ministries and Departments of Central and State Governments
    • Public sector undertakings (PSUs) both at the centre and states
  12. Interact and coordinate closely with
    • Other All India Services
    • The Indian Army. and Armed Forces in general

IPS Cadre Allocation

The officers promoted/recruited from the state police services remain in their respective state cadres. For the successful candidates of the IPS exam (Civil Services Exam), the cadre allocation is done on the basis of their rank, availability of vacancies and their preferences. Earlier the Cadre Allocation Policy 2008 had a state-wise preference list, which was to be filled by the IPS exam candidates. However, now the cadre allocation policy for IPS officers has changed.

Since UPSC CSE 2017, the new cadre policy for All India Services has been enforced. It aims to increase national integration and rationalise vacancies while increasing the efficiency of administration. Now, the IPS cadres are grouped into 5 zones.

Zone Number of Cadres IPS Cadres
I 7
  • AGMUT (Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and UTs)
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Uttarakhand
  • Punjab
  • Rajasthan
  • Haryana
II 4
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Bihar
  • Jharkhand
  • Odisha
  • Gujarat
  • Maharashtra
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Chhattisgarh
IV 6
  • West Bengal
  • Sikkim
  • Assam-Meghalaya
  • Manipur
  • Tripura
  • Nagaland
V 5
  • Telangana
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Karnataka
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Kerala

In this, candidates have to first indicate zone preference and then the cadre preference.

IPS Training

For the new IPS officers, there is almost two years of training or probationary period. The first part of the Foundation Course is of three months duration and is common to all the new UPSC CSE recruits. After the foundation course at Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA), Mussoorie, the IPS probationers go to Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy (SVPNPA), Hyderabad.

Apart from the district training for IPS officers, the different indoor and outdoor subjects are:

Outdoor subjects Marks Allotted
Drill (comprising Ceremonial Drill and Sword Drill) 100
Drill (comprising Ceremonial Drill and Sword Drill) 80
Equitation 40
Field Craft Tactics and Map Reading 200
First Aid and Ambulance Drill 20
Physical Fitness 80
Swimming 25
Unarmed Combat 30
Yoga 25
Indoor subjects Marks Allotted
Police in Modern India 75
Indian Evidence Act, 1872 100
Indian Penal Code, 1860 100
Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 100
Special Laws 50
Crime Prevention & Criminology 75
Investigation-I 75
Investigation -II 75
Forensic Medicine 50
Forensic Science (Theory & Practical) 75
Maintenance of Public Peace and Order 75
Internal Security 75
Police Leadership and Management 100
Ethics and Human Rights 75
Information & Communication Technology 100

IPS Salary, Pay Scale, Salary Structure – IPS Ranks

The IPS officers in India get a starting pay scale monthly salary of Rs 56,100 (DA, HRA etc. are extra). This is after the 7th Pay Scale Commission recommendation. IPS salary as per the ranks of IPS officers is given in the table below.

Designation or IPS rank in State Police/Central Police Force Salary as per 7th Pay Commission
Director-General of Police 2,25,000.00 INR
Additional Director General of Police 2,05,400.00 INR
Inspector-General of Police 1,44,200.00 INR
Deputy Inspector General of Police 1,31,100.00 INR
Senior Superintendent of Police 78,800.00 INR
Additional Superintendent of Police 67,700.00 INR
Deputy Superintendent of Police 56,100.00 INR

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker